Lucky February 13

Posted: July 22, 2011 in Love and Marriage
Tags: , , , , ,

Valentine’s Day is supposed to be the most romantic day of the year, when couples celebrate love, and singles try to create a spark with the one they have their hopes set on.  It’s also a very stressful day for a lot of people due to all of the expectations, and it’s one of the times that it’s most common for people to break up.  Lucky for my wife and I, we had been through all of the breaking up and getting back together when Valentine’s Day arrived, so there was little or no stress, and the only expectation was that we would continue to experience the joy of the love that we had renewed.

Even so, I was determined to make this Valentine’s Day one to remember.  For weeks ahead of time, I was searching the web for creative ideas and ways to make it unique.  No last-minute reservations and flowers this year.  I was on a mission to shower my wife with romance and this “holiday’ just gave me an excuse to go overboard.

The actual Valentine’s Day was on a Monday this year, which obviously doesn’t work well, but that gave me the weekend to turn into, you guessed it, a more-than-one-day celebration.  Sunday was the 13th, and it was also the day that the University near our loft was hosting a stage production of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, my wife’s favorite fairy tale.  It was an afternoon performance, so that allowed me to buy tickets to the play and then make dinner plans for afterward.

I started with a special surprise on Saturday night.  I had ordered some ebooks online, and one of them had complete instructions for giving a one hour, full body relaxation massage.  My wife has always loved back rubs (don’t all women?), and I’ve always been glad to give them, but with this, it was taking it to another level.  This was an example of giving a gift of myself, and knowing my wife well enough to know what would really be meaningful to her.  It’s also a gift that she can use over and over again.

Saturday evening, I warmed up some towels and massage oil, lit candles and an aromatherapy oil burner, and put on a relaxation cd on the stereo.  I had her lay down and I explained what I had bought and what I was going to do.  Needless to say, she loved it, and there have been many such massages taken advantage of since then.  Anyone can learn to do this, and it gives a couple a very intimate time to spend together, where you can also use words to complement, reassure, and build up your partner.

The following day was to be our Valentine’s Day, even though it would be February 13, not the 14th.  I had a number of things planned, and I’ll share them in tomorrow’s post.  The 13th would turn out to be a lucky number indeed.

Leave a Reply

